The Michigan Wolverines men’s basketball team is the intercollegiate men’s basketball program representing the University of Michigan. The college competes in the Big Ten Conference in Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The Wolverines play basketball games in the Crisler Center in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Michigan has won one NCAA Championship and two National Invitation Tournaments (NIT), fourteen Big Ten Conference titles and two Big Ten Tournament titles. In addition, it’s won an NIT name and a Big Ten Championship that were vacated due to NCAA sanctions. The group is coached by Juwan Howard.
Michigan has had 31 All-Americans. Eight of them are consensus All-Americans, that can be Cazzie Russell (two times), Rickey Green, Gary Grant, Chris Webber, Trey Burke, as well as Harry Kipke, Richard Doyle and Bennie Oosterbaan (two-times) who were retroactively chosen from the Helms Foundation. Twelve All-Americans happen to be at least two-time honorees. Russell was the only three-time All-American.
Michigan basketball players are successful in professional basketball. Fifty-eight have been drafted into the National Basketball Association (NBA); twenty-six of those were first round draft picks, including the two Cazzie Russell and Chris Webber that were drafted first overall. The 1990 NBA draft in which Rumeal Robinson was selected 10th, Loy Vaught was chosen 13th, and Terry Mills was selected 16th made Michigan the third of only ten schools that have had three or more players selected from the initial round of the same draft. Five players have gone on to become NBA champions for a total of eight times and eight players have become NBA All-Stars a total of 18 times. Rudy Tomjanovich coached both the 1994 and 1995 NBA Finals Champions. Glen Rice is among only eight basketball players to have won a state high school championship, NCAA title and NBA championship.
Throughout the 1990s Michigan endured an NCAA violations scandal, described as between one of the largest amounts of illegal money in NCAA history, when Ed Martin loaned four players a reported amount of $616,000. Due to NCAA sanctions, records in the 1992 Final Four, the 1992–93 season, and 1995–99 seasons have been vacated. Throughout this article asterisks denote awards, honors and records which have been vacated.

Read more:

Pin It on Pinterest