The NBA Finals is the yearly championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Eastern and Western conference champions play a best-of-seven game set to ascertain the league champion. The champions of these Finals are given the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, which replaced the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1983.
The series was initially known as the BAA Finals prior to the 1949–50 season when the Basketball Association of America (BAA) merged with the National Basketball League (NBL) to form the NBA. The competition oversaw additional name changes to NBA World Championship Series from 1950 to 1985, as well as a short stint as the Showdown, before settling on NBA Finals in 1986. [1]
The NBA Finals was initially structured in a 2–2–1–1–1 structure. In 1985, to alleviate the quantity of cross-country journey, it had been changed into a 2–3–2 format, where the first two and final two games of the series were played in the stadium of the group who made home-court benefit by getting the better record during the regular season. In 2014, the 2–2–1–1–1 structure was restored. The first two matches are played the higher-seeded team’s home, the following two in the home of this lower-seeded team, along with the remaining three are played at each team’s home arena . [2]
A total of 19 franchises have won the NBA Finals, with the Toronto Raptors winning in 2019. The Boston Celtics hold the record for the many victories, having won the competition 17 times, as well as the most consecutive titles, winning 8 times from 1959 to 1966. The Los Angeles Lakers have contested the NBA Finals the most times, with 31 appearances. The Eastern Conference has provided the many winners, with 38 wins from 10 franchises; the Western Convention has 32, from 9 franchises.

Read more:

Pin It on Pinterest